Why I’m excited about emigrating

As scary as moving country is, it’s also the most exhilarating decision I’ve ever made. I started working straight after college (lucky, I know) and apart from one amazing, eye-opening summer in Barcelona, I’ve never lived anywhere but Ireland. While all my friends were off on J1s or backpacking in Asia, I was sitting in rainy Dublin typing furiously, trying not to miss them too much. Don’t get me wrong, I have no regrets about getting a head start on my career, but travelling is something everyone my age does so I’m relieved that my time has finally come. The following reasons (some serious, most so ridiculous I should be embarrassed to even mention them) are why I’m so psyched to be moving to America.

  1. I get to quit my job. Yes, I’ve loved it for five years, but I’m also chomping at the bit for a change.
  2. Arizona sounds amazing. As I’ve previously mentioned, it’s hot, everyone has pools, the neighbouring states are brilliant and I’m looking forward to trying out a new, and very different, lifestyle. One that involves drive in movies and swimming, preferably.
  3. The telly. American TV, with its ridiculous local news shows, brand new sitcoms, terrifying ads and infinite number of channels is one of the reasons I went back to Vegas a second time. I’m not even joking about that.
  4. Getting down with the lingo. I’m gonna fill up on arugula, cilantro and zucchini while riding the elevator to my condo. You get the idea.
  5. Have I mentioned the weather and the fact it NEVER rains in Arizona?
  6. Travelling at weekends. We’ve decided that the only way to really make the most of this move is to see and do everything. I’ll consider myself a failure if I don’t get my picture taken with the world’s biggest ball of string before the three years are out. I really will.
  7. The fast food outlets. The scary reality is that I’ve already Googled the addresses of In N Out, Taco Bell, IHOP, Krispy Kreme and so many more delicious, fatty and terrifyingly cheap restaurants. Please don’t judge me.
  8. Meeting American people. As tourists in Dublin they wreck my head with their lumbering around and constant bellowing in Temple Bar, and in Vegas they’re always drunk, so I’m excited about meeting, getting to know and hopefully making friends with some Yanks, as my nana would so affectionately call them.
  9. The supermarkets and pharmacies. Target, Walmart, Walgreens – they’re so big, with so many aisles and so many quick fix solutions. I want loyalty cards for them all.

Of course, for every reason I’m excited to move there are two that could tempt me to stay. Still, musn’t let fear stand in my way, eh?

Leave a Reply

