And so it starts…

First, a little background info. I’m Sarah, I live in Dublin with my boyfriend Eoin and I work on a magazine. About six weeks ago Eoin, who is an engineer at The Massive Multinational Company That Cannot Be Named, which produces something nerdy to do with computers, was offered a two and a half year assignment in America. We talked about it (a lot) and decided it was an amazing opportunity, one that he couldn’t turn down, and that I would go with him. To be honest, I did most of the talking. Like, who wouldn’t want to live stateside for a couple of years? The price of magazine subscriptions over there is enough to make me sprint to the airport.

The Massive Multinational Company That Cannot Be Named is a sound company and once we could prove that Eoin and I been living together for over a year, I was officially classed as his significant other  in their (probably bespectacled) eyes. As a SO, The Massive Multinational Company That Cannot Be Named will ship me off to America with him and organise a visa allowing me to stay there for the duration of his assignment. Like I said, sound.

The only problem is the visa (it’s called B1 or B2 or something) won’t allow me to work in the States; I’ll technically be a tourist, or a kept woman, as I like to put it. That’s the scary part. While this move is great for Eoin’s career, it means me giving up my job. A year ago I wouldn’t have dreamt of it but lately, well, it’s lost its lustre a bit and I’d been thinking of making a move for the past six months. So when you look at it, this America opportunity couldn’t have come at a better time.

Obviously we have loads to do (starting with this week’s job, some paperwork) as the preliminary start date for the assignment is the beginning of October. That’s only about 12 weeks away. Oh look, I’ve just pissed my pants out of sheer terror.

Leave a Reply

